Skip navigation

Julia Ward Howe Award Finalist

We're pleased to announce that Building Old Cambridge by Susan Maycock and Charles Sullivan was selected as a finalist in the 20th Annual Julia Ward Howe Award competition, sponsored by the Boston Authors Club (BAC). There will be a celebration of the BAC honoree authors at a festive event in September at the Boston Public Library in Copley Square.

The BAC was founded in 1886, and relaunched in 1899 when women were permitted to join. Julia Ward Howe was elected the first president. Over the years, membership at the BAC has included many famous authors like Mark Twain and Willa Cather. Today, the BAC’s membership numbers about 250 published authors.

Congratulations Susan and Charles!

  • Posted at 04:09 pm on Mon, 31 Jul 2017 in award


Or, if you prefer to use an RSS reader, you can subscribe to the Blog RSS feed.


Books, news, and ideas from MIT Press

The MIT PressLog is the official blog of MIT Press. Founded in 2005, the Log chronicles news about MIT Press authors and books. The MIT PressLog also serves as forum for our authors to discuss issues related to their books and scholarship. Views expressed by guest contributors to the blog do not necessarily represent those of MIT Press.