Skip navigation
Hardcover | Out of Print | ISBN: 9780262231787 | 360 pp. | 6 x 9 in | March 1995
Paperback | $30.00 X | £22.95 | ISBN: 9780262731171 | 360 pp. | 6 x 9 in | October 1996

Perversion and Utopia

A Study in Psychoanalysis and Critical Theory

Overview

In this sweeping challenge to the postmodern critiques of psychoanalysis, Joel Whitebook argues for a reintegration of Freud's uncompromising investigation of the unconscious with the political and philosophical insights of critical theory. Perversion and Utopia follows in the tradition of Herbert Marcuse's Eros and Civilization and Paul Ricoeur's Freud and Philosophy. It expands on these books, however, because of the author's remarkable grasp not only of psychoanalytic studies but also of the contemporary critical climate; Whitebook, a philosopher and a psychoanalyst, writes with equal facility on both Habermas and Freud.A central thesis of Perversion and Utopia is that there is an essential affinity between the utopian impulse and the perverse impulse, in that both reflect a desire to bypass the reality principle that Freud claimed to define the human condition. The book explores the positive and negative aspects of the relationship between these impulses, which are ubiquitous features of human life, and the requirements of civilized social existence.Whitebook steers a course between orthodox psychoanalytic conservatism, which seeks simply to repress the perverse-utopian impulse in the name of social continuity and cohesion, and those forms of Freudo-Marxism, postmodernism, and psychoanalytic feminism that advocate its direct and full expression in the name of emancipation. While he demonstrates the limitations of the current textual approaches to Freud, especially those influenced by Lacan, Whitebook also enlists the lessons of psychoanalysis to counteract the excessive rationalism of the Habermasian brand of critical theory, thus making a substantial contribution to current discussions within critical theory itself. His analysis and interpretation of perversion, narcissism, sublimation, and ego bring new insight to these central and thorny issues in Freud, and his discussions of Adorno, Marcuse, Castoriadis, Habermas, Ricoeur, Lacan, and others are equally penetrating.

Endorsements

Perversion and Utopia is quite distinctive in its approach. It provides fresh illumination on a variety of central topics in psychoanalysis. It also presents a new perspective on the significance of Freud for social theory today, and for those interested in the vicisssitudes of the relation between psychoanalysis and critical theory, it is a livelt rereading of their intertwining.”
Richard J. Bernstein, Vera ListProfessor of Philosophy, The New School for Social Research
“Whitebook addreses numerous feminist studies over the past twenty-five years, the various cultural-relativist poistions, Frankfurt Marxism, Lacanian thought, linguistic approaches, and much else. What he has given us is an intelligent, judicious, thorough, and brilliantly argued commentary that is at once timely and lasting.”
Donald M. Kaplan, PH.D., New York University