MIT Press News

MIT Press journals contributors win Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences

MIT economist Joshua Angrist shares the prestigious award alongside other frequent MIT Press journals contributors, David Card and Guido Imbens

We are thrilled that the 2021 Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences has been awarded to frequent MIT Press journals contributors David Card, Guido Imbens, and Joshua Angrist. The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences announced that this year’s award honors Angrist and Imbens “for their methodological contributions to the analysis of causal relationships,” and Card for “his empirical contributions to labor economics.” Angrist, a labor economist at MIT, told MIT News that he was “overwhelmed” by the announcement, adding that he felt “especially lucky to be sharing this honor with David Card and Guido Imbens.”

All three winners have made frequent contributions over the years to MIT Press journals, in particular The Review of Economics and Statistics. To honor their achievement, we are sharing their work published in our journals below.

Joshua Angrist:

David Card:

Guido Imbens:

Learn more about MIT Press’s journals