MIT Press News

Our 2021 PROSE Award winners

The Association of American Publishers (AAP) recently unveiled 45 subject category winners for the 2021 Professional and Scholarly Excellence (PROSE) Awards, honoring the best scholarly works published in 2020. For this year’s PROSE Awards competition, a panel of 23 judges selected winners from a total of 130 finalists and an initial pool of 590 entries. 

Three MIT Press publications were named category winners in their respective areas and are as follows: 

Engineering & Technology:

Design Justice: Community-Led Practices to Build the Worlds We Need by Sasha Costanza-Chock

What is the relationship between design, power, and social justice? “Design justice” is an approach to design that is led by marginalized communities and that aims explicitly to challenge, rather than reproduce, structural inequalities. This book goes beyond recent calls for design for good, user-centered design, and employment diversity in the technology and design professions; it connects design to larger struggles for collective liberation and ecological survival.


Lumen Naturae: Visions of the Abstract in Art and Mathematics by Matilde Marcolli

Lumen Naturae is a book about art—and a book about mathematics and physics. Marcolli explores common themes in modern art and modern science—the concept of space, the notion of randomness, the shape of the cosmos, and other puzzles of the universe—while mapping convergences with the work of such artists as Paul Cezanne, Mark Rothko, Sol LeWitt, and Lee Krasner.

Best New Journal in Science, Technology & Medicine:

Harvard Data Science Review edited by Xiao-Li Meng

The Harvard Data Science Review (HDSR) features foundational thinking, research milestones, educational innovations, and major applications in data science, with a primary emphasis on reproducibility, replicability, and readability. An open access platform of the Harvard Data Science Initiative, HDSR is published by MIT Press and hosted on the collaborative PubPub publishing platform, an initiative of the Knowledge Futures Group.

Congratulations to our winners!